Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Friend of WPA Award
Share |

The Friend of WPA Award is presented every other year to someone, often a Wisconsin legislator, who has been a champion for advancing mental health care, or for efforts aimed at advocating for patients with mental illness.

In selecting the award recipient, the WPA Executive Council looks at the following criteria of nominees:

  • Authored or co-authored legislation impacting mental health issues.
  • Proven track record of voting in favor of pro-mental health legislation.
  • Public support of issues concerning the health and well-being of patients with mental illness.
  • Singular proponent of a particularly complex or relevant legislative initiative.


Past award recipients include:

2016 - Rep. John Nygren

2014 - Assembly Speaker Robin Vos

2012 - Charles E. Kubly Foundation

2010 - Rep. Chuck Benedict